Haydn 'Nelson Mass'

Saturday, May 25, 2013

The Edinburgh Singers perform Haydn's 'Nelson Mass' and Mozart's 'Solemn Vespers'. Saturday 25 May 2013, Greyfriar's Kirk, 7.30pm.

Following their sell-out Christmas performance of Bach's Magnificat, The Edinburgh Singers return to Greyfriars to present their summer concert featuring music by Haydn and Mozart. Haydn's Nelson Mass encapsulates the drama of Napoleonic warfare, culminating in Nelson's heroic victory at the Battle of the Nile. This is contrasted with Mozart's final work for Cathedral liturgy, the melodic and tranquil Solemn Vespers. Featuring professional soloists and full orchestra.

  • Musical Director: John Gormley

  • Mozart Soloists:                                            

  •     Sopranos Judith Gardner Jones, Aileen Boyle, Joanne Dunwell

  •      Mezzo Catherine Dunlop

  •     Tenors David Leaver, Keith Main

  •     Baritone Jonathan Wright

  • Haydn Soloists:

  •      Soprano Judith Gardner Jones

  •      Mezzo Taylor Wilson

  •      Tenor Chris Elliott

  •      Baritone Anders Östberg

  • Orchestra: Organised by Iain McLarty

  • Organ - Jeremy Cull

    Violin - Lauren Clay, Laura Horn, Julia Lungu, Heather Kennedy, Jennifer Nicholson

    Cello - Gillian Dainty, Justny Jabconska

    Timps - Euan Fairbairn

    Double Bass - Ed Lucas

    Bassoon - Anna Mary Lynch

    Trumpet - Tom Poulson, Bede Williams, Vicky Williams

    Viola - Alistair Mailer

    Trombone - Paul Stone, Alex Trotter, Josiah Walters

  • Sopranos:

    Aileen Boyle, Joanne Dunwell, Sarah Gore, Sylvia Hamilton, Gillian Mitchell, Jo Richards, Julia Sanders, Catherine Siddall, Anna Skinner, Jean Waddie, Zoë Westwood

  • Tenors:

    Seth Armitage, Adria Bargues, David Cameron, Jim Gilchrist, Bob Gould, David Leaver, Simon Maclaren, Keith Main, Iain McIntyre, Justin Nash, Geoff Waters

  • Altos:

    Shona Banks, Catherine Dunlop, Fiona Easton, Sarah Farnworth, Alex Marks, Alison Preston, Isobel Ramsay, Ailis Sandilands, Harriet Skipworth, Nicola Stock

  • Basses:

    Martin Boyle, Lyn Jones, Ed Jupp, Tom Macintyre, Sean McBride-Stewart, David Pudney, Don Roberts, Bruce Royan, Martin Tolley, Mark Woods, Jonathan Wright