Beethoven's 9th

Sunday, March 29, 2009

The Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, is the final complete symphony of Ludwig van Beethoven. On Saturday 28th March 2009 in the Caird Hall, Dundee, and Sunday 29th March 2009 in St Cuthbert's Edinburgh, The Edinburgh Singers collaborated with the Dundee Symphony Orchestra to perform this sublime work. The full programme was:

  1. Joseph Haydn - Symphony No. 100 "Military"
  2. Ralph Vaughan Williams - Ca' the Yowes
  3. Ralph Vaughan Williams - Ward the Pirate
  4. Ralph Vaughan Williams - The Turtle Dove
  5. Ralph Vaughan Williams - Early in the Spring
  6. Ralph Vaughan Williams - Loch Lomond
  7. Ralph Vaughan Williams - Serenade to Music
  8. Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 9 "Choral"
  • Soprano: Christina Dunwoodie
  • Alto: Jennifer McEwan
  • Tenor: Paul Featherstone
  • Bass: Gordon Cowie
  • Conductor: Robert Dick
  • Musical Director: Catherine Fish
  • Leader: Barbara Geller