Remembrance Service

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Remembrance Service, broadcast on BBC Radio Scotland: presented by Kevin Franz in Morningside Parish Church, Edinburgh. With the Edinburgh Singers directed by Catherine Fish. Organist: Morley Whitehead.

    Opening organ music: Composer Charles MacPherson. Part V, from A Little Organ Book in memory of Hubert Parry, published by Dean & Son, The Year Book Press.
    Hymn 1: O God our help in ages past (Tune: St Anne)
Solo voice after Minute's Silence: 'Floo'ers o' the Forest' sung by Catherine Fish
    Hymn 2: O God of earth and altar (Tune: King's Lynn) Words by G K Chesterton, Tune - English traditional arranged by Vaughan Williams
    'Sleep' by Eric Whitacre, Published by Walton Music (
    Hymn 3: I waited patiently for God: Adaptation of Ps 40 by John L Bell, melody by Alex Muir
    Hymn 4: For the healing of the nations (Tune: Tantum Ergo Sacramentum)
    'The Lord bless you and keep you' by John Rutter, Published by Oxford University Press